Sin… That Separates

sinThere definitely comes a time in every believer’s walk, where they “feel” like they are completely separated from God. During this time you also “feel” the weakest in your faith. You ask yourself questions like, why am I so discouraged, or why am I tripping over things I would not normally trip over, or why don’t I feel like praying or getting in my word….

Well there is good news and bad news… The good news is, in the words of my husband, “Praise God you are a believer.” You should find some joy in this, because an unbeliever will never recognize that he or she needs to get back on track. The bad news is, although Christ will never leave us, and as the scripture tells us in Romans 8:39 “Nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord…” We CAN separate ourselves from his presence because of SIN. (This may not be bad news…but it surly is the truth!)

In my confession time with my husband, sometimes I confess to him that I have been yielding to my flesh and not denying thoughts like jealousy or anger. These confessions usually do not come until I realize that I have been behaving in a way that causes my husband to feel attacked. I may not answer him in love, or I may be snappy towards him, or I may even accuse him of things that are not true.

Also during this time, before I come to realize that I am behaving this way; I feel 100% justified in my actions until I recognize that I have not been in my word or prayed in a few days or weeks… and nor do I have the desire too!

What is this called…  Separation (The action or state of moving or being moved apart)

Now you may be saying, how can a believer be separated from God? I would then challenge you to take a look at a marriage that has been separated. Although the couple is still married legally, they are not communicating with each other, spending time with each other, and probably do not have the desire too…or else they would.

The same applies in our walk with Christ, we can separate ourselves from him by not communicating with him, spending time with him, and simply not having the desire to. In addition our sinful nature will have us feeling justified in our sinful actions towards people and God, and we cannot find forgiveness unless we confess our transgressions.

Nevertheless, as a believer you should feel this separation and run back to Christ.

After a few days or weeks of me being self-consumed, sorrow overtakes me and I realize that my actions and behavior has not been pleasing to God. In fact, because I was not in his word or spending any time communicating with him… I begin to feel distinct and empty inside.

BUT PRAISE GOD that HE is faithful… and Christ will remain faithful in loving us, even when we neglect him.

So I repented, (I acknowledge my transgression, I confess my transgression, and I turn from my transgression) and God forgave me.

I then realize that I need his word, because it is refreshing and bring life.

I then realize that I need to pray, because there is power and strength found in my prayers.

The communication is now restored!

Something to meditate on

We may try to hind our sins, cover it up, or even excuse them…but when we do this God cannot deal with it, and you will remain separated from him. However when we pray and ask God for forgiveness we should pray:

  • Create in me a clean heart, O Lord (Psalms 51:8-10)
  • Renew a right spirit within me (Psalms 51:10)
  • Cast me not away from thy presence; and take not thy Holy Spirit from me (Psalms 51:11)
  • Restore unto me the Joy of thy salvation; and uphold me with a free Spirit (Psalms 51:12)
We would like to hear your thoughts!

